Board Members

Board Members:

Darren Van Steenwyk

Darren Van SteenwykDarren Van Steenwyk, of Lodi, is the Board's President. He has been technical director at Clark Pest Control since 2006. He held several positions at Univar USA from 2002 to 2006, including manager and sales representative. Van Steenwyk is a member of the U.S. Green Building Council, Northern California Chapter, Entomological Society of America, National Pest Management Association, Pest Control Operators of California and the California Association of Pest Control Advisers. Mr. Van Steenwyk is an industry member appointed by the Governor whose term expires June 1, 2019.

Dave Tamayo

Dave TamayhoDave Tamayo is the Board's Vice President. In 2014, Mr. Tamayo was elected to the Board of Directors of the Sacramento Municipal Utility District. He is a former board president of the Sacramento-Yolo Mosquito and Vector Control District, and is member of DPR's Pest Management Advisory Committee, US EPA's Pesticide Program Dialogue Committee, and National Pest Management Association's GreenPro Advisory Committee. Prior to working for the County, Mr. Tamayo owned a wholesale seafood business and was an electrician and whitewater rafting guide. He holds a BA in Zoology from UC Berkeley and an MS in Entomology and Nematology from the University of Florida, Gainesville. Mr. Tamayo is a public member appointed by the Speaker of the Assembly, whose term expires June 1, 2020.

Ronna Brand

Ronna BrandRonna Brand of Beverly Hills, is the founder and owner of Brand Realty. Ms. Brand has been state director for the California Association of Realtors since 2006. She was president of the Beverly Hills Greater Los Angeles Association of Realtors in 2007 and was founder and owner of Bicoastal Connections from 1980 to 1984. Ms. Brand is a public member appointed by the Governor, whose term expires June 1, 2021.

Naresh Duggal

Naresh DuggalNaresh Duggal of San Jose, has been a manager in the integrated pest management unit for Santa Clara County since 2002. Mr. Duggal was a quality assurance manager for the commercial division of Orkin Exterminating Inc. from 1999 to 2002. He served in multiple positions at Prism Professional Integrated Sanitation Management from 1994 to 1999, including technical support, quality assurance manager and staff entomologist. Mr. Duggal is a public member appointed by the Governor, whose term expires June 1, 2017.

Mike Duran

Mike DuranMike Duran of Indio, has been president of Duran's Termite and Pest Control Inc. since 1977. He has been a member and trustee for the Valley Sanitary District of Indio since 2003. Mr. Duran was a member and trustee of the Mosquito and Vector Control and Sanitary District in Coachella Valley from 2004 to 2008. He established the Pest Control Operators Palm Springs chapter and served as president from 2001 to 2004. Mr. Duran served as a reserve police officer in the City of Indio from 1964 to 1967. Mr. Duran is an industry member appointed by the Governor, whose term expires June 1, 2019.

Curtis Good

Curtis GoodCurtis Good of Irvine is president of Newport Exterminating, a company he has owned since 1982. He is a member of the Urban Pest Management Center of California and the Pest Control Operators of California. Mr. Good is an industry member appointed by the Governor, whose term expires June 1, 2021.

Servando Ornelas

Servando OrnelasServando Ornelas of Los Angeles, is a Deputy Probation Officer and Adjunct Community College Professor specializing in environmental, economic, and contemporary issues. He is a graduate of East Los Angeles College and California State University at Los Angeles. Mr. Ornelas holds a Master's degree in Mexican American studies. He currently sits on the boards of the Latino Educational Fund, and the East Los Angeles Community Youth Center. He is an advocate for safe pest control practices that promote the welfare of the public while enhancing the professionalism and economic growth of the pest control industry. Mr. Ornelas is a public member appointed by the state senator pro tempore, whose term expires June 1, 2020.